A New Term Begins

Published on Thursday, 26 October 2023 at 11:31:12 AM

Yesterday, at an Ordinary Meeting of Council, three new Councillors were sworn in by Justice of the Peace and Chief Executive Officer Stuart Taylor, after being elected unopposed at the 2023 Local Government Election.
The Shire of Wongan-Ballidu welcomes Cr Matthew Sewell, Cr Geoffrey Chambon and Cr Elyssa Giedraitis, as well as re-elected member Cr Sue Starcevich to join our Council for a four-year term expiring in 2027.
As a new term begins, the position of Shire President and Deputy Shire President were declared open for nominations by Mr Stuart Taylor. Cr Mandy Stephenson was nominated unopposed for the position of Shire President and accepted. Cr Mandy Stephenson said she looks forward to representing the Shire of Wongan-Ballidu as Shire President for another term, working together to meet strategic goals for our community. Cr Dwight Coad was nominated unopposed for the position of Deputy Shire President and accepted.
We look forward to working with the new Council to achieve our collective goals and seeing the Shire's Strategic Community Plan come to fruition.

Back to All News