In accordance with the Local Government Act 1995, the Council has established Committees to support the operations of the Council. 

Audit and Risk Committee

Section 7.1A of the Local Government Act 1995 (the Act) requires that all local governments establish an Audit & Risk Committee (“the Committee”). The Committee plays a key role in assisting a local government to fulfil its governance and oversight responsibilities in relation to financial reporting, internal control structure, risk management systems, legislative compliance, ethical accountability and the internal and external audit functions.

Cr M Sewell (Chair)

Cr G Chambon (Deputy Chair)

Cr M Stephenson

Bushfire Advisory Committee (BFAC)

The Shire of Wongan-Ballidu Bush Fire Advisory Committee (the Committee) is established under the Bush Fires Act 1954. The primary purpose of the Committee is to provide guidance and advice on all matters relating to preventing, controlling and extinguishing of bush fires.  The Committee will also advise on the layout of fire breaks in the district, formation of bush fire brigades.  The Committee will assist in ensuring the cooperation and coordination of bush fire brigades.

Cr M Stephenson

Cr M Sewell (Proxy)

Local Emergency Management Committee (LEMC)

The Shire of Wongan-Ballidu Local Emergency Management Committee (LEMC) is established under the Emergency Management Act 2005. The primary objective of the LEMC is to advise and assist the Shire of Wongan-Ballidu in ensuring that emergency management arrangements are established, tested and reviewed. The LEMC will also actively contribute to the development of an efficient emergency management capability for the district.

Cr S Starcevich (Chair)

Cr M Stephenson (Proxy)

Works and Services Committee

The Shire of Wongan-Ballidu Works and Services Committee is established for the purpose of assisting the Council to undertake its role under Section 2.7(2)(a) of the Local Government Act 1995 (the Act) to establish and maintain liaison between stakeholders, consider policies associated with plant, assets, roadworks and oversee development and maintenance of the road networks within the municipality.

Cr D Coad (Chair)

Cr E Giedraitis (Deputy Chair)

Cr M Sewell 

Health Building and Planning Committee

The Council of the Shire of Wongan-Ballidu establishes a Health, Building and Planning Committee, pursuant to Part 5 of the Local Government Act 1995 (the Act). The Committee is established in accordance with Part 5, Subdivision 2, Committees, and their Meetings, of the Local Government Act 1995. The Committee operates to assist Council to fulfil its Strategic and planning responsibilities in relation to the Health, Building and Planning Functions. The Committee shall act in accordance with the provisions of the Act, the local laws and policies of the Shire of Wongan-Ballidu and the Terms of Reference.

Cr G Chambon (Chair)

Cr S Boekeman (Deputy Chair)

Cr M Stephenson

Cr D Coad