2019 Local Government Ordinary Elections: Put yourself forward

The decisions of Councils affect the lives of everyone in the community. Becoming a Councillor is a great hands-on way to serve your community and positively influence future directions and outcomes for your municipality.

Councillors are elected by residents and ratepayers, and have an exciting and challenging role. They must be in touch with their community and balance community needs within a framework of financial accountability.  Standing for election provides a great opportunity to influence the future direction of the local community and help those who require support. It can be daunting and time consuming, but ultimately it can be highly rewarding.

Nomination Dates

Electors who wish to nominate as a candidate must complete a valid nomination application and present it to the Returning Officer before nominations close at 4:00pm on the 12th of September 2019.

2019 Local Government Elections: Wongan-Ballidu Vacancies

Persons interested in standing for one of the four available vacancies are recommended to use the Nomination Builder portal available online.  Successful candidates will stand for four years.  

While the nomination form and candidate profile can be completed online, you must lodge your nomination with the Returning Officer in person.  For further information, contact Andrea Bear, Returning Officer on 0447 780 874 or the WA Electral Comission on 13  63 06.

All prospective candidates are reminded that they must now complete the mandatory online induction module available at www.dlgsc.wa.gov.au before they can nominate.

An effective nomination consists of the following:

  • a completed nomination form
  • a profile of the candidate, prepared in accordance with the regulations
  • a nomination deposit of $80.00 in the form of cash, bank cheque or money order
  • a photograph (optional)

Helpful Information for Nominees

Access the Prospective Elected Members Webinar (15 August 2019) to view a recorded webinar for prospective Elected Members.

Returning officer

The Shire's Returning Officer is responsible for the conduct and processes associated with the Shire of Wongan- Ballidu Local Government Elections, and is appointed by the WAEC.  

2019 Voting in the election

Enrolling to vote in a local government election

All eligible electors must enrol to vote.  Once you have registered, you are enrolled for Commonwealth, State and local government elections. You can check your enrolment online.

All residents in a local government district who are enrolled on the State Electoral Roll are automatically enrolled on the corresponding local government roll. People who own or occupy property within a local government district, can apply to their local government to be included on the roll as an owner/occupier, as long as they are elegible electors.  A body corporate may apply to have up to two eligible electors to be included on the owner/occupier roll. To check your eligibility as a voter, visit the WAEC Website.

All eligible electors are allowed to vote once in any district or ward for which they are enrolled. If a person lives within one local district or ward, and owns or occupies property in a different district or ward, they may be entitled to a vote in both areas, provided they are enrolled for those addresses.  

How to Vote

Voting in a local government election is not compulsory in Western Australia. However, all electors are strongly encouraged to vote.  

There are two types of local government elections - postal elections and voting in person elections. At a postal election, electors are sent an election package which includes the ballot papers and may then vote at home and post the completed papers. At a voting in person election, electors may vote early or by post but most choose to vote in person on election day at a polling place within the district.

Postal elections

Most local government elections administered by the Commission are conducted by post. It has become the most popular means of conducting local government elections and generally has a higher elector participation rate.

All eligible electors will receive a postal voting package around three weeks prior to polling day. The package will include a list of candidates, ballot papers, instructions on how to vote and a declaration. To vote, follow the instructions included in the package. Your postal voting package must be received before 6.00pm on polling day. If you do not think that your postal voting package can be returned by post in time, you can deliver it by hand to a polling official. To apply for postal voting papers, download and complete the form.  

Voting in person

On polling day, electors go to designated polling places to cast their vote. Polling places are open from 8.00am to 6.00pm. If an elector can’t attend a polling place on polling day, they can apply for an absent, early or postal vote. 

2017 Local Government Election Results

The Western Australian Electoral Commission has now released the official results of Saturday's Local Government Election. The official results, including terms, can be found here: 2017 Shire of Wongan-Ballidu Local Government Election Results

New Councillors Eion Ganzer, Stuart Boekeman, Mandy Stephenson and Sue Falconer were Sworn In at the Official Ceremony held Wednesday 25 October 2017.

Councillor Peter Macnamara was elected Shire President and Councillor Jon Hasson was elected Deputy Shire President by the Council at the Ordinary Meeting of Council held and Wednesday 25 October 2017.

The Shire of Wongan-Ballidu congratulates the new Councillors on their election, and recognises the outstanding service given by past Councillors Alfreda Lyon, Norma Walton and Richard Morgan.

Latest News

Upcoming Events

  • Saturday 2 November EXPLORE THE NIGHT SKY

    Join us for a magical evening of stargazing and take in the Crescent Moon, Jupiter, Saturn, ...

    View event