

SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING ENGAGEMENT OF LOCUM AND PERMANENT DOCTOR AND MANAGEMENT AND RUNNING OF MEDICAL CENTRE

MONDAY 3 DECEMBER 2012
MINUTES

SHIRE OF WONGAN-BALLIDU



SHIRE OF WONGAN-BALLIDU SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING

Held in the Council Chambers, Cnr Elphin Crescent & Quinlan Street, Wongan Hills, On Monday 3 December, commencing at 7.30am

1. OFFICIAL OPENING

The Shire President Councillor Michael Brennan declared the meeting opened at 7.30am

2. ATTENDANCE, APOLOGIES, LEAVE OF ABSENCE PREVIOUSLY GRANTED

Cr Michael Brennan

Cr Hugh Barrett-Lennard

Cr Tracey deGrussa

Cr David Brown

Cr David Armstrong

Cr Bradley West

Cr Alfreda Lyon

Cr Peter Macnamara

STAFF:

Mr Stuart Taylor Chief Executive Officer

APOLOGIES:

Cr Michael Godfrey

3. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY PRESIDING MEMBER WITHOUT DISCUSSION

Nil

4. STAFF REPORTS

4.1 ENGAGEMENT OF LOCUM AND PERMANENT DOCTOR AND MANAGEMENT AND RUNNING OF MEDICAL CENTRE

MOTION: MOVED Cr Barrett-Lennard/Cr Armstrong

- 1. The Chief Executive Officer to negotiate with Penlan Pty Ltd (Dr Richard Walkey and Sean Byron) for the release of the practice to the Shire of Wongan-Ballidu.
- 2. That the Shire of undertake the management of the Medical Practice in the interim until alternative arrangements have been adopted by Council
- 3. The Shire of Wongan-Ballidu employ locum doctors until a permanent doctor is recruited or alternative arrangements have been entered into following approval by Council.
- 4. The Chief Executive Officer is given approval to undertake restructure of the practice and staff as he deems necessary for the operation of the practice.
- 5. A budget amendment is approved up to \$75,000 to support the operating, locum services and recruitment of a permanent general practitioner.
- 6. The Chief Executive Officer to explore options for the management and operation of the practice including the use of contract provider.

CARRIED BY ABSOLUTE MAJORITY: 8/0

5. MEETING CLOSURE

There being no further business the Shire President declared the meeting closed at 8.10am

These minutes were confirmed at a meeting on 20 December 2012

Signed

President